CNNA 2021

The 17th IEEE International Workshop on Cellular Nanoscale Networks and their Applications

University of Catania

September 29 - September 30, 2021

The 7th Memristor and Memristive Symposium

October 1, 2021

Find Out More

Dear Colleagues,

we are pleased to announce that CNNA 2020, scheduled to be held in Catania, has been re-scheduled for September 29 - October 1, 2021 in Catania.

We wish you all good health and look forward to seeing you next year in Catania!

On behalf of the conference organizing committee and the Chair of the CNNA TC

Maide Bucolo and Alon Ascoli

Scope of the Conference

The 17th IEEE International Workshop on Cellular Nanoscale Networks and their Applications will be held in Catania, September 29 - September 30, 2021. Computer technology is rapidly changing in the last decades. Besides the general progression in multi-core and many-core designs there is a strong demand for emerging nano-scale technologies with low power dissipation, intelligent, bio-inspired machines, massively-parallel architectures with learning capabilities, and memristive systems. Moreover, sensing and analyzing the visual world requires special sensors and processors. Sensor-processor arrays can solve problems from early image processing up to decision making. CNNA 2021 will provide a forum for the presentation of latest results and exploration of future directions in the context of Cellular Nanoscale Networks and their Applications.
The 7th Memristor and Memristive Symposium will be held on the 1st of October.

Conference informations

Paper submission

Submission opens
February 1st, 2021

Learn More


Early registration deadline
August 30th, 2021

Learn More


Technical and organizing Committees

Learn More

Scientific Programme

Keynote Speakers and Sessions

Learn More


Palazzotto Biscari
Accademia Gioenia

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More

Patrons and Sponsors

Financial and Technical Sponsorship

Learn More

Paper Submission

Full paper submission
May 3rd, 2021
Notification of paper acceptance
June 30th, 2021
Camera-ready paper submission
August 30th, 2021

The camera-ready papers are uploaded using EasyChair.
All the accepted papers will be published on IEEE Xplore digital library.
The submitted papers (2-4 pages) must be written in English, using Microsoft Word or LaTex according to the IEEE guidelines for the two-column IEEE-sponsored conference proceedings. Templates for Microsoft Word and LaTeX are available here

Submission opens: February 1st, 2021

Early registration deadline August
30th, 2021
Late registration deadline September 20th, 2021
On-site registration from September 29th, 2021

Regular, full registration fee
450 Euro
550 Euro
600 Euro
IEEE Members - full registration fee
400 Euro
500 Euro
550 Euro
Student registration fee
250 Euro
250 Euro
300 Euro
IEEE Members - Student registration fee
200 Euro
200 Euro
250 Euro
Memristor Symposium - One day only
100 Euro
100 Euro
150 Euro
Virtual full registration fee
200 Euro
200 Euro
200 Euro
Virtual Student registration fee
100 Euro
100 Euro
100 Euro
Virtual Memristor Symposium - One day only
100 Euro
100 Euro
100 Euro

To register to CNNA 2021 please fill the PDF registration form and send back to, along with a copy of the payment via bank transfer invoice. Registration includes lunches, coffee breaks, conference dinner, visit of the Historical buildings of the University and the University Museum.
General chair
Maide Bucolo (University of Catania)
Honoray chair
Leon O. Chua (University of California Berkeley)
Technical Program chair
Ronald Tetzlaff (Dresden Technical University)
Special Session Chair
Angela Slavova (Bulgarian Academy of Science)
Mustak E. Yalcin (Istanbul Technical University)
Memristor and Memristive Symposium chair
Alon Ascoli (Dresden Technical University)
Publicity chair
Piotr Zwierzykowski (Poznan University of Technology)

Scientific Committee
Jordi Albo-Canals (Ramon Llull University)
Horvath Andras (Pazmany Peter Catholic University)
Paolo Arena (University of Catania)
Sabri Arik (Instanbul University)
Jorge Fernandez Berni (University of Seville)
Arturo Buscarino (University of Catania)
Xavier Vilasis Cardona (Ramon Llull University)
Gert Cauwenberghs (University of California)
Pier Paolo Civalleri (Politecnico di Torino)
Fernando Corinto (Politecnico di Torino)
Arpad Csurgay (Politecnico di Torino)
Ciro Del Negro (INGV)
Mauro Di Marco (University of Siena)
Piotr Dudek (University of Manchester)
Luigi Fortuna (University of Catania)
Mattia Frasca (University of Catania)
Ricardo Carmona Galan (Spanish National Research Council)
Marco Gilli (Politecnico di Torino)
Eduardo Gomez (University of Guadalajara)
Kristof Karacs (Pazmany Peter Catholic University)
Hyongsuk Kim (Chonbuk National University)
Mika Laiho (University of Turku)
Chin-Teng Lin (National Chiao Tung University)
Gabriele Manduchi (IGI-CNR)
Valeri Mladenov (Technical University of Sofia)
Ioannis Messaris (Dresden Technical University)
Michael Niemier (University of Notre Dame)
Josef Nossek (Technical University of Munich)
Maciej Ogorzalek (TJagiellonian University)
Ari Paasio (University of Turku)
Luca Patanè (University of Messina)
Viet-Thanh Pham (Hanoi University of Science)
Wolfgang Porod (University of Notre Dame)
Csaba Rekeczky (Eutecus Inc)
Angel Rodriguez-Vazquez (Spanish National Research Council)
Victor M.Brea Sanchez (University of Santiago de Campostela)
Bertram Shi (University of Hong Kong)
Georgios Ch. Sirakoulis (Democritus University of Thrace)
Lambert Spaanenburg (Lund University)
Johan Suykens (Catholic University of Leuven)
M.N.S. Swamy (Concordia University Montreal)
Peter Szolgay (Pazmany Peter Catholic University)
Mamoru Tanaka (Sophia University)
Vedat Tavsanoglu (Isik University)
Akio Ushida (Tokushima Bunri University)
Joos Vandewalle (Catholic University of Leuven)
David Lopez Vilarino (University of Santiago de Campostela)
Chai Wah Wu (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center)
Chung-Yu Wu (National Chiao Tung University)
Nerhun Yildiz (Yildiz Technical University)
Akos Zarandy (Hungarian Academy of Sciences)
Nagy Zoltan (Pazmany Peter Catholic University)

Local organizing committee
Paolo Arena (University of Catania)
Giuseppe Avon (University of Catania)
Concetta Barcellona (University of Catania)
Loubna Belhamel (University of Catania)
Arturo Buscarino (University of Catania)
Riccardo Caponetto (University of Catania)
Claudia Corradino (University of Catania)
Carlo Famoso (University of Catania)
Mattia Frasca (University of Catania)
Salvina Gagliano (University of Catania)
Lucia V. Gambuzza (University of Catania)
Giovanni Muscato (University of Catania)
Giuseppe Nunnari (University of Catania)
Giovanna Stella (University of Catania)
Federica Torrisi (University of Catania)

Scientific Programme

To be defined

Keynote Speakers

Leon O. Chua

Ronald Tetzlaff

Luigi Fortuna

The conference venue is located in the downtown area of Catania. The main venue will be one of the historical baroque palaces of the University of Catania, built in the XVIII century. The main track will be hosted in the Aula Magna of the Accademia Gioenia di Catania, hosted at the ancient Palazzotto Biscari, via Etnea 29.


From Vincenzo Bellini Fontanarossa airport
Public transportation: You can take a bus, called "Alibus", runs periodically (about every 20 minutes) between the airport, the central station and the city center. From there, you can continue by bus or metro. The metro stop to the city center is "Stesicoro".
Taxi: A trip costs about 25-30 euros depending on timetables and traffic.


Several hotels and b&b can be found at walking distance, ranging from luxury to standard accommodation.

Ask further information